Hector Luis Garcia (16-2) and his team are still shaking their heads at the results of Saturday night’s fight against Lamont Roach (23-1-1). (photo by Ryan Hafey)

Garcia lost his super featherweight WBA world title via split decision on the David Benavidez versus Demetrius Andrade undercard at the Michelob Ultra Arena at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas. 

A knockdown in the twelfth was the difference in the scoring. Roach caught García on the back of head with what was ruled a legal punch and sent him down with 1:20 left in the round. The controversial ruling lead to the first career loss for Garcia in his natural 130 pound weight class. 

“Not only did he get hooked in the back of the head, but if you watch the replay, it wasn’t even a punch. Roach hooked him and guided him down while tripping him which caused him to go down,” Garcia’s trainer Bob Santos told BoxingScene.com when asked for his comments on the outcome of the fight. 

“It was a close fight, and what a shame for it to end in such a controversial manner.  These fighters bust their ass in camp to become champions. Nothing hurts more than to lose your title because of a bad call. Especially when a punch doesn’t even land.”

Garcia is hoping that the WBA orders and immediate rematch because of the controversial nature of the fight. If the knockdown wasn’t called, Garcia would’ve been declared the winner by unanimous decision. 

“Of course I want a rematch but the truth of the matter is, I shouldn’t even need one. I won the fight. Could I have done better? Of course, but at the end of the day if they got the call right, I would still be the champion. I hope the WBA does the right thing and orders an immediate rematch,” said Garcia. 

The Dominican Republic native won the fight in August 2022 when he defeated Roger Gutierrez in Orlando, Florida.  

Send questions or comments to ringsidewriter@gmail.com. You can follow Ryan on Twitter @ringsidewriter