Shane McGuigan has been named Trainer of the Year by the British Boxing Board of Control, in association with Boxing News, the second time he has earned the award.

McGuigan, who first scooped the honor in 2016, has won the same number of BBBofC awards as his iconic father, Barry McGuigan, a Hall of Famer who was named Boxer of the Year in 1984 and 1985.

Shane McGuigan’s client list now includes WBO cruiserweight titleholder Chris Billam-Smith, lightweight prospect Caroline Dubois, European super lightweight titleholder Adam Azim and IBF super bantamweight belt holder Ellie Scotney

The Boxer of the Year award has been won by two of McGuigan’s former fighters, Carl Frampton and Josh Taylor, and this year Billam-Smith was short-listed but beaten to the title by Leigh Wood.

“It’s nice to look back and say dad’s won it twice, Frampton’s won it, Josh Taylor’s won it, Chris Billam-Smith has been nominated, George Groves was nominated, Chantelle Cameron was nominated,” Shane said. “A lot of hard work has been put in. We have a very successful stable; what can’t be denied is, we keep getting results – and time and time again – so we’re obviously doing something right.”

Some of McGuigan’s best work has been done with Billam-Smith, but the coach has also had a fight with light heavyweight contender Craig Richards, whom McGuigan is hopeful can get among the world titles at 175 pounds.

And although McGuigan is busy – his No. 2, Josh Pritchard, has his own fighters working in the same gym – the trainer will not rule out taking on more talent.

“If a big-time fighter came in or someone who’s got a super talent that’s interested to come to work with me, 100 percent, I’m always up for it,” McGuigan said. “I’m just going to keep doing what I’m doing.”

McGuigan has plenty of big fights on the horizon for 2024, and he is preparing many of his charges for championship fights.

“Everyone’s at that stage now,” he said. “Adam’s a championship fighter. Caroline’s a championship fighter. Craig is, Chris Billam-Smith is, Ellie is.”

Other contenders for this year’s Trainer of the Year award included Ben Davison, Errol Johnson, Jamie Moore, Tony Sims and Steve Woodvine.