No announcement yet.

Comments Thread For: Jamie McDonnell Reacts To IBF's Decision To Strip Him

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Comments Thread For: Jamie McDonnell Reacts To IBF's Decision To Strip Him

Further to recent press and social media comment I feel compelled to make this statement.

On May 11 2013, I won the IBF Bantamweight title against Julio Ceja, winning a World Title was a life changing moment and every boxers dream.

I am a professional fighter and rely on my earnings from boxing to pay my mortgage and bills.

Despite being fit, willing and able to fight at all times, under the management and promotional guidance of Dennis Hobson I have only had 3 fights in 2 years and I have only had one fight in the last 12 months, without even a warm up contest to keep me active.

I was very concerned about this and was in touch with Dennis Hobson, my then manager, for him to arrange fights for me. Finally on September 19 I had a meeting with him at which two offers were put to me, one involving me fighting on BoxNation and the other on Sky Sports. I made it clear to Dennis Hobson that I wanted to fight on Sky Sports.
    [Click Here To Read More]

The IBF are a bunch of fking clowns, this is terrible but sadly unsurprising. Hope Jamie gets this sorted, he seems like a really nice guy and it sounds like he's been shafted by everybody concerned.

Comment

Originally posted by fladz View Post
      The IBF are a bunch of fking clowns, this is terrible but sadly unsurprising. Hope Jamie gets this sorted, he seems like a really nice guy and it sounds like he's been shafted by everybody concerned.
      More like his managers fault

Comment

sounds like they dont have good communication, shame really as ceja was a tough contender and malinga in comparisson is much easier, in truth malinga nor hall are good enough to be fighting for the title so I dont know how theyve figured that out.

Comment