No announcement yet.

Joe Mesi; It’s Over in Boxing?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joe Mesi; It’s Over in Boxing?

Mesi by his own admission says his brain did have bleeding. A subdural hematoma (a localized swelling filled with blood resulting from a break in a blood vessel) caused in his last bout.

Even the neurologist says so but claims the vein that bled no longer exists. This may be true, I am no expert of brain bleeding or damage, but I’ve been around boxing enough to know that another fight could be the end for any fighter much less a fighter that has had damage especially to the brain. Your brain gets rattled with every head blow and as far as I’m concerned, once damaged next blow doesn’t help it get cured. [details]

"This may be true, I am no expert of brain bleeding or damage"

Than you really have no valid opinion on this subject. If the doctors okay him, we are in position as fans to question their expertise.

Comment

I disagree. As fans it isn`t a question of questioning a doctor, it is the fact that if Mesi fights again there is a high possibility that he will be killed in any match he undertakes. Fans have the right to boycott such a traggic state of affairs. Why should Mesi be given the right to juggle with the reputation of boxing for his own gains?
      I can`t understand how a doctor can comfirm Mesi had bleeding in the brain then clear him to fight.
      Mesi, for his own good and the conscience of the opponent who potetially ends his life, should walk away from boxing and be grateful he still has his marbles.

Comment

Originally posted by Kimmy
        I disagree. As fans it isn`t a question of questioning a doctor, it is the fact that if Mesi fights again there is a high possibility that he will be killed in any match he undertakes. Fans have the right to boycott such a traggic state of affairs. Why should Mesi be given the right to juggle with the reputation of boxing for his own gains?